No More Unity EP – Summer 2020 vinyl release

Raccoon Tycoon is proud to announce the vinyl release of Guns N’ Rosa Parks “No More Unity” 7″ EP, available July 1st, 2020.

This 10 song EP of blistering Denver Hardcore has never been issued on vinyl before. Recorded in the summer of 2009 at The Furnace Room in Denver Colorado with Trevor Morris (Hooper, Pink Hawks, Bailer, Pariah Caste, Ross Etherton & The Chariots of Judah) behind the mixing board. Dan Randall from Mammoth Sound in Denver mastered the original tapes for vinyl, Gotta Groove Records in Cleveland Ohio pressed the vinyl during the Coronavirus pandemic where each record was painstakingly wiped down with a 50/50 solution of Clorox and Hydroxychloroquine before being assembled by trained specialists from OSCA wearing hazmat suits. Large carbine rods were used to place the inserts inside the record sleeve to assure the maximum level of safety for our shitworkers. Each sleeve was then wiped with a polyblend fabric that resists bacteria and cat hair, then the fabric was left on the couch where a small dog sat on it. Rest assured, if you purchase one of these records during the pandemic, we want you to know that we did n̶o̶t̶ sneeze into each individual sleeve.

Anyway, this slab of wax is the swan song of GnRP, their final recordings. The record comes with a 32 page booklet filled with lyrics, flyers, photos and ephemera from the Blast-O-Mat era of Denver, roughly 2008-2010. The record is a love letter to Denver and Blast-O-Mat, a place where GnRP played over 25 times. They played so many benefit shows at Blast-O-Mat that they used to joke that they paid for the PA system. At a time when Denver was ripe for something new and the city was still letting letting very small businesses take chances, Blast-O-Mat was a place to call home for everybody in the scene, not just one segment of punk or hardcore. Their booking policies and all ages shows kicked off an explosion of DIY creativity in Denver that the city hadn’t seen since Monkey Mania in the late 1990s.

The band made a demo for No More Unity first – a cassette tape with 13 songs and no lyrics, just a sort of ideal version of how they wanted the song structures to go. Starting in February 2009, the band took over the basement of a West Denver home and starting hashing out the details of what would become their final record. The demo tape gave the band a chance to hammer out the songs and fine tune them with timing, solos, background vocals and phrasing. When you really take the time to study your music up close with a microscope, it makes a better final product. In the band’s past, their methods of recording were somewhat questionable, so in a way, they were eager to work in a “real studio” with somebody who really knew what they were doing.

In June 2009, when the band entered the studio in South Denver they had a really good idea of what they wanted their EP to sound like. Each person in the band brought Trevor a 7″ EP to reflect how they wanted the record to sound. Somebody brought the DRI “Violent Pacification” EP for it’s pounding rhythm section, AJ brought the Cause For Alarm 7″ on R Radical Records for it’s raw guitar sound that is right up front in the mix. Trevor was the first person to record GnRP – up until that point in the band’s career they had recorded, mixed and engineered almost all of their recorded output entirely themselves. So, with some hesitation, the band agreed to submit to Trevor and his reindeer games, you know, things like proper mic placement, doing overdubs, fixing mistakes, actually backing up your work. Fancy things that GnRP were not accustomed to. But, luckily, the band and Trevor found a way to work together to create this EP and take the ideas out of their brains and put them onto vinyl.

Recording No More Unity was a project unlike the construction of a massive dam. It took a lot of work and a lot of hours, and fortunately, some of those hours were documented on film. GnRP allowed a small film crew to capture them rehearsing the record at their practice space in West Denver as well as at The Furnace Room during various stages of making the record. There is a lot of film footage from GnRP and specifically this era but the problem is, all of it is on 8MM tapes. The tapes have to be transferred to digital and cleaned up in Final Cut Pro and edited etc, so it’s a huge project that will take years. But one day, we’ll have No More Unity – the mini documentary. Me personally, I can’t wait to see Seneca Flowers eating a sandwich and Mark falling down the stairs in HD 800 Gigbit 5G Pixels. Fingers crossed for that.

No More Unity 7″ will be available through distro and stores – we are working on that as we type. Updates of where to find the record soon!

No More Unity EP

  1. Blast-Beat Doldrums
  2. Glass Bottom Boat
  3. Hungry Hungry Hippocrites
  4. Dick Cheney Beyond Thunderdome
  5. Diminishing
  6. Shitwolf
  7. Retarded Potential
  8. Chain Of Command
  9. No More Unity I
  10. No More Unity II